Is Spelt Gluten-free?

Spelt Gluten

Spelt (Triticum spelt) is an ancient grain common among health-conscious consumers as a whole grain cooked as well as an alternative to standard wheat flour. It is typically organically farmed and has been cultivated across the globe for thousands of years.

It is assumed that ancient grains have health advantages over modern wheat, as they have not improved much over the past few hundred years. Additionally, many ancient grains — but not all — are gluten-free.

When you adopt a gluten-free diet then you may wonder if you should eat spelt.

Spelt is a distinct form of wheat, and it contains gluten like all forms of wheat. Gluten is a general term for protein from wheat although it is also present in rye and barley. The protein helps the dough to rise and gives baked goods, especially bread, structure.

Although gluten is perfectly healthy for many people it should be avoided for those with celiac disease. When you have this disorder, ingesting spelt or any gluten product will cause an autoimmune reaction that will inflammation and damage your small intestine ‘s lining. People with allergy to non-celiac gluten are also recommended to avoid all types of wheat, including spelt.

So much does that contain gluten?

There is a belief prevailing that ancient varieties of wheat are lower in gluten than modern (common) wheat. Researchers who assessed both the spelt and typical wheat gluten content found spelt to be slightly higher in gluten, however.

Additionally, another study on celiac antibodies found that spelt was significantly more reactive than standard wheat, suggesting spelt consumption in those with celiac disease induces an autoimmune reaction.

Bear in mind that there is no acceptable level of gluten for those with this disorder.

Article Categories:
Food · Nutrition

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Don't Miss! random posts ..